In October 2011 the PRCA launched a campaign with PR Week to end the practice of unpaid internships as part of the association’s commitment to raising standards in all areas of the PR industry.

Deputy Prime Minister supports PRCA - PR Week Campaign to end unpaid internships

Intern Guidelines

The PRCA Intern Guidelines form part of our wider campaign to end unpaid internships. Produced by our the PRCA and its membership for the wider PR and communications industry, the Guidelines explain how much interns should be paid and why. It also provides valuable information regarding the selection process, how to structure an internship, and how to treat interns.

The Guidelines are also valuable to aspiring PR interns who want to know how to prepare for an interview, and how to make the most of their internship opportunities.

The Guidelines can be downloaded here: PRCA Intern Guidelines

If you would like to order a hard copy, please visit our Publications Page

Organisations that pay interns at least the National Minimum Wage

The following consultancies and in-house teams commit to paying their interns at least the National Minimum Wage. If you would like to join the list please contact Nicholas Dunn-McAfee.
 

Organisation Website
4CM Ltd www.4cm.co.uk
A Marr and Associates alexandramarr.com
AD Communications www.adcomms.co.uk
Admiral PR www.admiralpr.com
APCO Worldwide www.apcoworldwide.com
Aspectus PR www.aspectuspr.com
AxiCom www.axicom.com
Beige London www.beigelondon.com
The BIG Partnership www.bigpartnership.co.uk
Bite Communications www.bitecommunications.com
Bottle PR www.bottlepr.co.uk
Brands2Life www.brands2life.com
Broadgate Mainland www.broadgatemainland.com
Burson-Marsteller www.burson-marsteller.co.uk
Champion Communications Ltd. www.championcomms.com
Champollion www.champollion.co.uk
Citypress www.citypress.co.uk
Clareville Communications www.clareville.co.uk
Clive Reeves Public Relations Ltd. www.clivereeves.com
CM Porter Novelli www.cmporternovelli.com
Cohn and Wolfe www.cohnwolfe.com
Communications Management www.communicationsmanagement.co.uk
Connect Communications www.connectpa.co.uk
Consolidated PR www.consolidatedpr.com
Curtin & Co www.curtinandco.com
Diffusion PR www.diffusionpr.com
DTW www.dtw.co.uk
Edelman www.edelman.co.uk
EML Wildfire www.emlwildfire.com
ENS Ltd. www.ensltd.com
Fourth Day Public Relations www.fourthday.co.uk
Frank PR www.frankpr.it
Freshwater UK www.freshwater-uk.com
Freud Communications www.freud.com
Golin Harris www.golinharris.co.uk
Grayling www.grayling.com
Haggie Financial www.haggie.co.uk
Hanover www.hanovercomms.com
Havas PR www.havaspr.co.uk
H+K Strategies www.hillandknowlton.co.uk
Hopscotch Consulting www.hopscotchconsulting.co.uk
Incorporated PR www.incoroporatedpr.com
INGMedia www.ing-media.com
Insight Public Affairs insightpublicaffairs.com
International Fur Trade Federation (In-House) www.wearefur.com
JFL Search and Selection (In-House) www.jflrecruit.com
Journalista www.journalista.co.uk
Juice PR www.juicepr.biz
Kaizo www.kaizo.net
KAM Communications/medeuronet UK Ltd. www.kamcommunications.com
Kantar Media (In-House) www.kantarmedia.com
Ketchum www.ketchum.com
Kinross & Render Ltd. www.kinrossrender.com
Latienne www.latienne.com
Lewis PR www.lewispr.com
Linstock Communications Ltd. www.linstockcommunications.com
Liquid www.weareliquid.com
London Communications Agency www.londoncommunications.co.uk
MHP Communications www.mhpc.com
MSL London www.msllondon.com
Munro & Forster www.munroforster.com
Napier Partnership www.napier.co.uk
NC Creative Group www.nccreativegroup.com
Nelson Bostock Group www.nelsonbostock.com
Newgate Communications www.newgatecomms.com
Newgate Threadneedle threadneedlepr.co.uk
onechocolate communications www.onechocolatecomms.co.uk
Ogilvy PR www.ogilvypr.com
Pegasus Public Relations Ltd. www.pegasuspr.co.uk
Pier www.pier-marketing.com
Platform PR platformpr.com
PLMR Ltd www.plmr.co.uk
Porta Communications www.portacomms.com
Porter Novelli www.porternovelli.com
Portfolio Communications www.portfoliocomms.com
Portland Communications www.portland-communications.com
Propeller www.propellergroup.com
Quatro www.quatro-pr.co.uk
Recognition PR www.recognitionpr.co.uk
Red Consultancy www.redconsultancy.com
Red Lorry Yellow Lorry www.rlyl.com
Rostrum Communications www.rostrumpr.com
Salix Consulting www.salixconsulting.com
Scott Parnership www.scottpr.com
SE10 www.se10.com
Six Degrees Limited www.sixdegreespr.com
Speed Communications www.speedcommunications.com
Sport and Recreation Alliance (In-House) www.sportandrecreation.org.uk
Sport England (In-House) www.sportengland.org
Stand Agency www.standagency.com
Talk PR www.talkpr.com
Tangerine PR www.tangerinepr.com
Text 100 www.text100.com
Tetra Strategy www.tetra-strategy.co.uk
The Royal Pharmaceutical Society (In-House) www.rpharms.com
Third City www.thirdcity.co.uk
Topline PR www.toplinecomms.com
Tribe PR www.tribepr.com
Tudor Reilly www.tudor-reilly.com
Unity hellounity.com
Waggener Edstrom Worldwide www.waggeneredstrom.co.uk
Watershed PR www.watershedpr.co.uk
WCG World www.wcgworld.com
Weber Shandwick www.webershandwick.co.uk
Westminster Advisers www.westminsteradvisers.co.uk
With PR www.withpr.co.uk
Wolfstar PR www.wolfstarconsultancy.com


Members who change their policy on interns are responsible for informing the PRCA of any change.


Social Mobility Compact

Press Release

The PRCA has signed up to the Social mobility business compact, which is the government’s campaign against the practice of unpaid work. The Deputy Prime Minister, Nick Clegg, said:

I am delighted that many of the country’s biggest organisations and employers have already signed up – including the PRCA and PR Week. I want to encourage every company across the PR industry to join too.” (To see his full column in PR Week click here)

To sign up to the compact click here


PRCA Intern Training Scheme
The PRCA is committed to helping organisations develop the next generation of PR professionals through a heavily discounted paid intern course with structured training programmes.

To find out more please click here


Access Commission
Press Release

In February 2011, the PRCA established an Access Commission to review the current state of social mobility in the PR industry. The commission was set up in response to growing concerns about social mobility, internships, diversity and flexible working. In January 2012 the Commission reported back to the PRCA with its recommendations.

You can read the whole report here.


Taylor Bennett Foundation
Press Release

Since the beginning of 2011 the PRCA has strengthened its commitment to increasing diversity in the PR industry by donating almost £15,000 worth of PR Training to the Taylor Bennett Internship scheme.

Think before you print! Save energy and paper! Do you really need to print this page?
Fee Income
X
Drag here
  • This field should only be completed by the individual with responsibility for your company's PRCA membership.
  • NB - Once you check the box to the left of this field and click update this figure is fixed for the entire year.
  • Fee income is defined as fees or income arising from time spent on carrying out public relations consultancy work plus any mark up and any handling charges or profits made on disbursement or expenses.
  • This figure
    1. will be used to calculate your membership subscription fee for 2009
    2. will be published on the PRCA website and in the yearbook.
  • This figure must include the fees from any subsidiary companies but not associated companies (see below).
  • If you are bound by Sarbanes-Oxley please select that accordingly, we will contact you individually about your fee income.
Holders of public office
X
Drag here
  • Please list any employees who hold any public office including members of House of Parliament, members of local authorities or of any statutory organisations or bodies who are full- or part part-time directors, partners, staff, special advisers or consultants retained by the consultancy
Subsidiary companies
X
Drag here
  • These companies are entitled to the same benefits as other PRCA members, they must abide by the PRCA Professional Charter and Codes of Conduct and their fee income must be included in the fee income field above.
Associated companies
X
Drag here
  • These companies are not included in your membership and as such do not benefit from PRCA member benefits. These companies are not covered by the PRCA professional charter.
Current clients
X
Drag here

The clients listed in this section are those which retain a consultancy on a continuing basis to deal with their public relations either in a specialised area or as a whole. One asterisk (*) against a client's name indicates that the consultancy has been retained by that client for three years; two asterisks (**) indicate that it has been retained for at least five years. Clients served on an ad-hoc basis are listed separately.

Adhoc clients
X
Drag here

Clients for whom you have undertaken work in the last twelve months on a project rather than a retained basis

Conflict of interest clients
X
Drag here

NB This will not appear as a separate list in the yearbook.